Interior Inspiration: Freemans Restaurant: New York


Last week it was my Birthday (I won’t say which) and we went for a delicious meal at Freemans Restaurant. I saw it in Rough Luxe Design when I was browsing in a book shop. The beautiful interior attracted me. Then I looked at the delicious menu on their website and I was sold.

Freemans is tucked away near Bowery. Twinkling fairy lights await you at the end of a little alleyway. You forget for a minute that you are in New York and think that you have wandered down the side street of a quaint French town.

The interior itself is most definitely shabby chic with a rustic charm.  It is a cross between an old English pub and a French bistro.

I love the dim, moody atmosphere and the clever use of contrasting colour and texture. There are also some seriously beautiful natural flower arrangements. I always notice these little details and think that they make a room complete.

The food and wine were perfect. It was the best wine that I’ve had in New York so far. The Artichoke dip was amazing! My husband and I shared the mushroom and barley risotto and a kale salad, both were exceptionally good. My younger brother tells me that the meat was also fantastic.

Leave a comment

Filed under Design, Food, Interior Design, New York, Restaurant

Leave a Reply

