Inspiration: Sunnyside Allotments


I think that allotments are a quintessentially English spectacle.

In my parents home town, where we are currently staying, there are several allotment areas. They are all completely charming! I love to walk through them watching people tending their little plots.

My parents had one when I was a kid. I used to sit in the car with my books and refuse to get out and help. I complained it was cold and boring at the allotments. Now I wouldn’t mind one of my own. It’s ironic how we become like our parents!

Apparently they are now so popular that there is a waiting list to get one. People want to grow there own food and don’t have big enough gardens so they pay for these plots.

Leave a comment

Filed under Garden, Nature

Leave a Reply

