Green and Cool: Fenton House Gardens


Finally Summer has arrived in London. It is warm and wonderful, and I am hoping it is here to stay!

I wanted to post some pictures I took last month in the Fenton House Gardens in Hampstead. Fenton House is a 17th-century merchant’s house owned by the National Trust. It was bought by Lady Katherine Binning in 1936 and is filled with her porcelain collection, Georgian furniture and collection of 17th-century needlework. The interiors have not been kept exactly as they were when Lady Katherine left the house to the National Trust, and some feel a little incomplete.

To be honest I found the garden far more interesting than the house itself. I love the formal lawn and statue. As a bookish and romantic teenager I dreamed of living in a Austen or Bronte novel, so I love a grand old English Houses and its Gardens.

I think the orchard and vegetable garden were my favourite areas. I found them utterly charming. My father is quite a gardener and has always planted edible plants amongst the flowers.

Who knew that rhubarb could looks so pretty!

There are lots of benches dotted around where you can sit and contemplate or read a book. I think this would be the perfect place for a summer picnic!  They ask for a donation of £3 to vist the Garden.

2 Comments

Filed under Garden, Home, London, Nature

2 responses to “Green and Cool: Fenton House Gardens

  1. Lovely assortment of photos. Thanks for sharing your travels.

Leave a Reply

