Breathless : A Bout de Souffle


Earlier in the week my flat mate and I decided to have a girls night in. I chose Breathless promising a classic and stylish French film. I  had watched this film as a student and somehow remembered it as a charming French classic “a bit like Breakfast at Tiffany’s”.  Breathless was part of the French New Wave movement. It’s most definitely a stylish film and like Breakfast at Tiffany’s it has a beautiful, youthful and quirky leading lady. It also centres on a capital city and the relationship between a man and a woman, but this is where the similarities end. I’ll blame it on being a student – perhaps I was drunk?

I very much enjoyed watching it a second time, but as I expected an easy to watch film I was a little stunned by the end. It is half gangster movie and half romance yet not at all in the conventional sense. For one thing by the end I found neither of the main characters likeable, yet they are most definitely extremely watch-able. Well I’ll leave it to you to watch the film and make your own analogies as I am no film buff . One thing is for sure, the cinematography is exquisite.

I’ve spent the whole week craving a day in Paris and a cute pixie hair cut!

For an intelligent and thorough analysis of the film click here

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, Fashion, Film, Paris

Leave a Reply

