Patty Smith: Just Kids


Image

I recently read Patty Smith’s book Just Kids. It is about her youth; specifically her time in New York, and her strange and beautiful relationship with the artist Robert Mapplethorpe. It was a fascinating read. I couldn’t put the book down and was so absorbed that I missed my tube stop twice in one week.  It is an intimate and moving account of two fragile, imaginative young people finding their way in the 1960’s New York. She creates such an evocative picture of the scene at the time and their (Robert and her) unique world.

Image

I loved all the photos in the book. I know it is nothing new for me to say that Patty had a unique tom-boyish style which has clearly influenced a lot of people. I also think that she has a fragile and jagged beauty.

Image

I had listened to her music as a student but had not appreciated that she was/ is a poet and artist. Ok I’m off to listen to Horses now!

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Culture, Fashion, Music, New York

Leave a Reply

