Inspiration: Meat Liquor


Earlier in the week I meet up with some friends at this new burger joint called Meat Liquor. The owner …. used to have a small van: The Meat Wagon. He would parked in various locations around London and has gained a reputation amongst food bloggers for his delicious no-nonsense burgers. Needless to say we were very keen to try out his new venture Meat Liquor. The food lived up to it’s reputation. We had as delicious burger, chips, coleslaw, onion rings and deep fried gherkins. I have to say the gherkins sounded weird to me but where amazing!

There is a new trend in London for casual New York style restaurants with a no-reservations policy. This is another in the same vein. It is located one street back from Oxford street (nearest tube is Bond Street) underneath a multi-story car park. The interior (by Meat and I love Dust) really surprised me. I wasn’t expecting much as it sounded such a low key place. There is a central domed seating area with several other areas off from this. The architectural dome and Victorian metal arches in the back must be left over from the restaurants past life. The whole place has a kinetic energy. It is dark and punky with loud rock music. I love the use of old utilitarian furniture (I know it’s nothing new but I always think it’s cool to recycle things). I liked the way that they used a plastic curtain which you would find in a butchers to divide off the back area. It is a witty, clever and cheap way to create a barrier. The whole place is pretty unique! I think that the most impressive feature has to be the graphic art/graffiti which covers the walls. I will definitely be going back.

Credit: Photos from Dezeen Magazine article taken by Adam Luszniak

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Culture, Design, Food, London

Leave a Reply

